HomeSportHow many Ballon d'Or trophies has Lionel Messi won and will he...

How many Ballon d’Or trophies has Lionel Messi won and will he win it again in 2023?

Lionel Messi is without doubt one of the greatest footballers to grace the game and his genius is unlikely to be ever seen again.

As a result, he’s collected many Ballon d’Or awards, which represent the highest individual achievement possible.


Messi boasts an impressive collection of Ballon d’OrsCredit: GETTY

The Argentine is a Barcelona legend and now plays in the USA for Inter Miami, where he has made a brilliant start.

And after winning his first World Cup with Argentina, Messi is in with a very good chance of picking up another Ballon d’Or later this year.

What is the Ballon d’Or?

The Ballon d’Or or ‘Golden Ball’ is an annual award presented to the world’s best footballer for that previous season.

It is hosted by France Football and is totally separate to FIFA’s own award.

Ex-Man United boss Van Gaal makes shock claim about Messi's World Cup triumph
Messi once had Rubiales on strings as footage of clash reemerges and fans are loving it

The prize started in 1956 and was originally voted for by football journalists, but from 2007 onwards, players from countries in FIFA’s top 100 get the chance to vote.

It’s the most prestigious award because it’s voted for by fellow professionals and peers.

After winning the World Cup with Argentina, Messi stands a strong chance of lifting the Ballon d'Or


After winning the World Cup with Argentina, Messi stands a strong chance of lifting the Ballon d’OrCredit: Getty

How many Ballon d’Or trophies has Messi won?

Messi lifted his first Ballon d’Or in 2009 and followed that up with wins in 2010, 2011 and 2012.

His next was presented to him in 2015, and he also won in 2019 and 2021.

This means he has won seven in total, which is the most in history.

His great rival and competitor, Cristiano Ronaldo, is two behind him on five.

From 2008 until 2017, the pair shared the award, showing their dominance of elite men’s football.

But Ronaldo hasn’t been in contention in recent years and won’t be this year after his lucrative move to Saudi Arabia to play for Al-Nassr.

Ronaldo and Messi dominated the Ballon d'Or for ten years


Ronaldo and Messi dominated the Ballon d’Or for ten years

Most Ballon d’Or winners

1: Lionel Messi (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, 2021)

2: Cristiano Ronaldo (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017)

3= Michel Platini (1983, 1984, 1985)

3= Yohan Cruyff (1971, 1973, 1974)

3= Marco van Basten (1998, 1989, 1992)

6= Franz Beckenbauer (1972, 1976)

6= Ronaldo (1997, 2002)

6= Alfredo Di Stefano (1957, 1959)

6= Kevin Keegan (1978, 1979)

6= Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (1980, 1981)

Will he win it this year?

The main contender standing in Messi’s way of an incredible eighth Ballon d’Or is Manchester City’s goal machine Erling Haaland.

The Norwegian striker scored 52 goals in 53 games as City won the treble, including their first Champions League trophy.

Haaland bagged 36 Premier League goals and scored 12 times in the Champions League, including five in a 7-0 thrashing of RB Leipzig.

There are other players like Rodri and Kylian Mbappe, but it’s likely to come down to Messi vs Haaland.

talkSPORT BET Offer Of The Day

Get up to £40 in free bets – CLAIM HERE

18+ New customers only. Opt in, bet up to £40 (min. £20) on selected events at odds of 2.00+, in 7 days. Get up to £40 in free bets on selected events. Bonuses expire in 7 days. Card payments only. T&Cs apply, see below. | Please gamble responsibly





Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

+++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++ +++